Meet Alex

Waiting in the airport for my flight, I was staring at my left palm and thinking about my life: Where am I? Am I on the right way and What will be next? I feel so small and insignificant in this big world. All of sudden, I was interrupted by “Are you flying to England?”

I am.

The guy was packed with two MacBooks, Iphone and optimism in his eyes. His name is Alex.

Alex booked a ticket in 5th row next to the window: it is his favorite place in the plane on the way to the UK. He asked me to sit next to him because it’s free. Now I even doubt that it was free by chance.

He is very talkative and he likes to meet new people. He is from Vinnitsa, he is into finance and phycology, he studies in England but takes flights to Ukraine on holidays. He loves his family and has a sister of 24 years whom gently calls “Sun”. She has a 6 years old son and thinks to move to Poland; his father is a urologist but ruined himself by drink and now works in Poland as a general laborer; his parents divorced; his mother started a business a decade years ago. He doesn’t eat sweets and reduces the intake of sugar and tends to be conscious about what he eats because of the possibility of fats at inner organs. He doesn’t drink tea nor coffee but water. He believes that there is no use to condemn a person until you put himself in his shoe: that is what he learnt from the first chapters of Carnegie’s book. He believes that laziness begets the progress and that the best way to reach what you want is to push you from a comfort zone. He has a channel on youtube where he shows how he plays games and records the process. By now he has hundreds of reviews.

We say goodbye to each other in Luton when Bob (taxi driver) picked Alex to take him to college. His trip would be longer than mine: 2 hours and £160.

Nearly forgot to mention. Alex is 17.

 

 

 

Leave a comment